“There was a smell of air and rain and turf and corduroy”

“He’ll stare at me, gentle, humble, resigned, mocking, a little mad. Standing in the gutter playing his banjo. And I’ll look back at him because I shan’t be able to help it, remembering about being young, and about being made love to and making love, about pain and dancing and not being afraid of death, about all the music I’ve ever loved, and every time I’ve been happy. I’ll look back at him and I’ll say: ‘I know the words to the tune you’re playing. I know the words to every tune you’ve ever player on your bloody banjo. Well, I mustn’t sing any more — there you are. Finie la chanson. The song is ended. Finished.’ ”

Good Morning, Midnight, Jean Rhys

~ par knalu78 sur mardi 2 février 2010.

Laisser un commentaire

 
